Writers in the Sun

The Cypress Dome Society and Department of English coordinate the Writers in the Sun (WITS) visiting author series, which brings several nationally-acclaimed authors to campus each year. Authors give public readings of their work, present talks on craft, visit classes, and meet with students informally.

WITS authors have included Lucy Grealy, John Dufresne, Marie Howe, Virgil Suarez, Philip Gerard, Valerie Miner, Michael Steinberg, Nancy Eimers, Rita Ciresi, Alex Lemon, John Poch, Dennis Covington and Joy Harjo.

This year, the Cypress Dome has been honored to welome poet Erica Dawson on October First, and will be honored with nonfiction writer Michael Steinberg on November 5.

Also, poet and nonfiction writer Stephen Kuusisto and another fiction writer will also be welcomed sometime in the Spring.